The journalist, author and moderator Jenni Zylka will be the new section head of Perspektive Deutsches Kino from August 1, 2022. This was announced by the Berlin International Film Festival on Wednesday. Tagesspiegel author Jenni Zylka has been associated with the Berlinale for many years: she has moderated press conferences and film talks during the festival since 1999 and has been a member of the selection committee for the Panorama section since 2006. She takes over the position from Linda Söffker, who left at her own request in April 2022 after twelve years as section head and is now responsible for the publications of the Defa Foundation. So far, Söffker has had a decisive influence on the series dedicated to young German filmmakers, which was installed by Dieter Kosslick.

Jenni Zylka has worked as a cultural journalist and film critic for print and radio media since 1995. She is a member of the Grimme Prize jury and the examination committee for youth media protection at the FSF (voluntary self-regulation of television) and teaches journalism at the AMD Academy of Fashion

In addition, Jenni Zylka works as a screenwriter and writer. As a moderator of film talks and press conferences, she is active not only at the Berlinale, but also at the Dresden Film Festival and the Emden Film Festival.

“Watching films, being able to think and talk about them, being fascinated and touched – for me there is hardly anything more beautiful. Through my work as a film journalist, I know how many ideas and great talents German film has to offer and I’m thrilled that I’m given the chance to find them all – and then to show them too!” says the designated section head Jenni Zylka.

“We look forward to working with Jenni Zylka as the new head of Perspektive Deutsches Kino. We know Jenni well – her knowledge, dedication, taste and passion for film. Her many years of expertise will help position the section as a platform for German up-and-coming filmmakers and their networking with the international film industry,” commented the Berlinale directors Mariette Rissenbeek and Carlo Chatrian.