The US Presidential election is fast approaching, and as November 3rd draws closer-and-closer, Democratic nominee Joe Biden looks all the more likely to win. The national polls, along with Presidential election odds, are in his favour, and things are looking pretty bleak for incumbent President, Donald Trump.

US Presidents can only run for a maximum of two four-year terms, and of the 45 Presidents to date, only ten have failed to win a re-election – with the exception of John F Kennedy, who was assassinated before he got the chance to attempt to be re-elected.

It has now been 28 years since a US President last failed to win re-election. However, if the polls, and the betting market, are anything to go by, then President Trump will be adding his name to that list.

With that in mind, read on as we take a look at the 10 Presidents who failed to be re-elected.

John Adams

Not only was John Adams the United States’ first Vice President, when George Washington invented the role in 1789, but he was also the first President to fail to be re-elected. Following Washington’s two terms, Adams took his place in the White House. However, after just four years as President, Adams was swiftly replaced by Thomas Jefferson.

John Quincy Adams

It turns out failing to win a second term in office runs in the Adams family. John Quincy Adams was the oldest son of second US President, and just the second person to miss out on re-election. Rifts within the Democratic-Republican party, which split-up afterwards, were to blame, and Andrew Jackson took over as President.

Martin Van Buren

After serving as Mr Jackson’s VP, Martin Van Buren took over as President, becoming the eighth President of the United States. However, after a difficult four years in office, which included an economic downturn, Van Buren lost the 1840 election to William Henry Harrison.

Grover Cleveland and Benjamin Harrison

It wasn’t until 1889, and 14 Presidents later, that there was another failed re-election attempt. Grover Cleveland, who was the 22nd President, lost the 1888 election to Benjamin Harrison. However, Cleveland didn’t give up, and was re-elected to office in 1893, taking back the position from Harrison.

William Howard Taft

A further 20 years passed before another President failed to win a re-election, and this time it was William Howard Taft, in 1912. The only man to have been both the US President and the Chief Justice of the United States, Mr Taff served as the 27th President between 1909 and 1912. However, after a torrid four years he was replaced by Woodrow Wilson.

Herbert Hoover

Herbert Hoover was elected President in 1928, and unfortunately for him, the famous Wall Street Crash occurred just one year later. With Mr Hoover failing to help the economy recover, he was replaced by Franklin D. Roosevelt after just one term.

Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter

Amazingly, Gerald Ford is the only President to have never actually won an election. Mr Ford was Richard Nixon’s Vice President, and when Mr Nixon resigned in 1974, Mr Ford stepped in to take his place. After serving as President from 1974 until ’77, Mr Ford lost the election to Jimmy Carter, who then failed to be re-elected just four years later, losing his place in office to Ronald Reagan. It was the first time in history that two Presidents in-a-row have failed to be re-elected!

George H. W. Bush

George H. W. Bush was the last President to miss out on a second term in the White House. Mr Bush, who also served as the director of the CIA, was Mr Reagan’s VP, and took over following his two terms. However, after just four years, which included the Gulf War, Mr Bush was replaced by Bill Clinton. After Mr Clintons two terms, George W. Bush became the 43rd President, and, unlike his father, served eight years in office.