Amanda-Jade Wellington, Adelaide Strikers spinner, produced one of the greatest bowling performances in WBBL history. This helped her team win a thrilling eight-wicket victory against the Brisbane Heat in “The Eliminator”.

As the Heat fell to 7-52 in the 12th Over at Adelaide Oval on Wednesday night, Wellington scored an amazing 5-8.

The Heat were saved from total embarrassment by a late appearance from Nicola Hancock (40 balls off 26 balls) as well as a brave effort by Nadine de Krak (18 balls off 25 balls) when the two-time champions limped down to 8-114.

De Klerk felt pain every time she went out for a run after getting struck on the left side of her left knee. She was also struggling to get a single in her early innings.

The Strikers responded with 21 balls left and cruised to victory.

Katie Mack (50 runs off 42 balls), and Tahlia McGregorh (38 runs off 27 balls) combined to create an unbeaten 71 run stand that made it easy for the runners to chase.

The Strikers will now face the Melbourne Renegades in Adelaide, Thursday, in “The Challenger” for the chance to face the Perth Scorchers Saturday in Perth.

Wellington, who was playing her 100th WBBL game and trying to get an international recall, was sometimes unplayable during her spell.

Grace Harris, the star opener, was Grace Harris’s first victim. She charged down the wicket but was then stumped by the spin.

Mikayla Hinkley was out two balls later, when she missed a sharp-turning ball to slip. Jessica Jonassen was then bowled by Wellington in nine overs.

After catching Laura Kimmince (and Georgia Voll) in consecutive deliveries, Wellington scored a hat trick in the 11th over.

De Klerk was able not to field the hat-trick delivery but it was difficult to do so after the ball bounced sharply and hit her shoulder.

Just when it seemed all was lost for the Heat Hancock scored six fours and one six to give her team at least a defenseable target.

Wellington’s bowling scores beat the WBBL record of 5-15 by Molly Strano, while playing for Renegades at MCG in 2016.